Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  Sharing examples and experience with STEM outreach

Posted 10-23-2022 10:35 AM
    Are you involved in pre-college STEM outreach and if it would be great if you could share your role and experience. This might help stimulate others to join this critical area of volunteerism as well as highlight the level of engagement within our Member ranks.

To start off, I've been doing in-classroom Algebra 1 tutoring for the past 4 years at a nearby high school.  My principal role is to help the students with their in-class practice problems, supplementing the teacher and enabling more 1:1 help than they can provide. The high school is located in a relatively disadvantaged area and many of the students lack the foundation in math that they should ideally have entering 9th grade. My commitment is 2 days a week for 2 classes which I try to meet but because of the nature of the role there is also the flexibility to take time off when I'm traveling or have another conflict. I've found the role to be a very rewarding experience and have been heartened by the impact I and others in the program have been having on standardized test scores. The program that I'm part of was started by another retiree and attached for credibility to a professional society (not ASCE). As volunteer programs this program is great because of its simplicity, it is scalable, and it is very volunteer friendly. Critical success factors are administration support and teacher willingness and comfort of having another adult in the room. I have the utmost admiration and respect for the teacher I have been volunteering with and feel very welcomed  and recognized for my efforts.

------------------------------
    Mitch Winkler P.E., M.ASCE
    Houston, TX

• 2.  RE: Sharing examples and experience with STEM outreach

Posted 10-24-2022 05:00 AM