Discussion: View Thread

• 1.  Educational seminars/PDHs from industry groups

Posted 09-06-2022 10:20 AM
    Good morning from Buffalo, NY! I am a junior engineer who does not yet need to earn PDHs, but I am on an email list from the PVC Pipe Association/Uni-Bell and noticed they offer a lot of seminars and continuing education materials. What is the general impression in civil engineering of such seminars? Are the industry groups considered neutral and reliable places to obtain professional development resources?

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Catherine Goerss-Murphy A.M.ASCE
    Williamsville NY

• 2.  RE: Educational seminars/PDHs from industry groups

Posted 09-06-2022 07:57 PM
    Hi Catherine, a very discerning question.

Q. "Are the industry groups considered neutral and reliable places to obtain professional development resources?"

A. It depends.

Given such sources are in business to make profits, and to do so they compete against others with similar products and services:
    1. Request what you wish from a few in the same line of work, service, product.
    2. Within our sister technical professional societies, e.g., ASME, IEEE, etc., as well as within our own ASCE-Buffalo section and similar groups,
    run your thoughts by them.
    3. I also find the UB Library access and their services excellent sources for research.

And then, we all have access to our pal, "Google Scholar."
    By rewording your entry, its amazing the related and divergent sources that provides.

Cheers,
    Bill
    p.s. Your preventative strategy is admirable!

William M. Hayden Jr., Ph.D., P.E., CMQ/OE, F.ASCE
    Buffalo, N.Y.

"It is never too late to be what you might have been." -- George Eliot 1819 - 1880

• 3.  RE: Educational seminars/PDHs from industry groups

Posted 09-07-2022 10:05 AM